11.23.2007

scary stuff.

so, a whole lot has happened since my last blog...
we found out that i'm pregnant (yay!) and due in mid-july... i'm only like 6 weeks right now, but so far so good.
thanksgiving was amazing. it snowed alllllllllll day long (hard) and we ended up getting like 5 inches. crazy, especially for west central texas. but it was perfect. it melted early today, so we didn't get to play in it, but it was great just to look at.
hmmm.... anything else? well, i think that's all i've got for what's gone on since my last blog, but let's get to the point of THIS blog...
so tonight, we were putting up our christmas tree and making our annual handprint ornaments for lincoln... it was fun. lincoln helped with all the unbreakable ornaments and then we got him to bed. before too long, he was coughing, so we went in his room to give him some cough medicine. that, much unlike usual, was a fiasco. long story short, water got spilled all over his dresser. as i was cleaning up the water, i noticed that the carbon monoxide detector in his room was registering that there were 60 parts per million of carbon monoxide in his room. not scary, just strange... unusual. usually it's at zero. so i picked up the detector and carried it out of lincoln's room to see if it would clear... it got higher. 124 in the kitchen. still just weird, because the alarm was not actually going off. got to the dining room....136. living room, 145. getting scary. why is the alarm not going off? so i open up the windows and doors, put out the fire in the fireplace, and continue to watch the carbon monoxide detector. it keeps getting higher... and higher... 189, 240, 300, 356, 406, 458. yeah, uh SCARY. so i called the hawley volunteer fire dept. and ask them what they thought... we have a detector in the living room, and it wasn't going off- plus the one that was going crazy wasn't actually sounding the alarm... so i think that maybe the thing's busted. so the guy recommends (DUH) that i change tha batteries in the alarm that was originally in the living room... i do so, and it IMMEDIATELY goes off. REAL SCARY. so the guy tells me to call 911 so they can dispatch the fire dept. out to our house... we get lincoln out of bed, go over to our neighbor's (my aunt and uncle, actually) house... i call 911 and shortly thereafter the fire dudes are at our house... i took them in and they got a pretty high reading, though incorrect because i had been airing the house out. the ambulance comes and i let them check out lincoln (he's the only one with insurance and the one i worry about the most!) and he's all good. anyway, we're told to go in and pack a couple bags as quickly as possible and go stay the night somewhere else...
so that's what i'm doing now. we're at my mother-in-law's house for the night... tomorrow i will have to get the propane compay to go out to our house and make sure there's no leak...
one thing that really sucks, aside from the obvious, is that i was really looking forward to hanging out at home all day tomorrow and not even going anywhere. now we'll be lucky if we can even GO home tomorrow... *sigh*
so, it's super scary that i could've easily not known about the carbon monoxide in our house... i will have to be better about keeping good batteries in the detectors, and i will have to buy a new one to replace the one that SHOULD'VE gone off and didn't.i would say that we got really lucky, but i don't believe in luck. so what i will say is that God was amazing tonight. he helped us figure out that there was a problem before one of us could've gotteb seriously ill or worse, died. with CO levels as high as we had in our house, we very likely might not have woken up tomorrow morning had we gone to sleep there....scary.