10.31.2007

so much to say, so much to say

in case you didn't get it, the title of my blog is totally part of a DMB song...
i have been a truly awful blogger as of late. i have been busy beyond belief, and i know i say that in every blog but it is always true!
so my mom fell and broke her knee cap 3 weeks ago ago... broke it right in half, into 2 big ol' pieces... see photos:

she had surgery just a few days after it happened and is recovering nicely, though it's proving to be really difficult for her... she can't bend her right leg at all, so it's hard to sit down or get up. she can't bend her knee for about 5 more weeks, so that will be a major pain in the butt- because obviously, if you can't bend your right knee, you can't DRIVE. so my dad will have to drop her off and pick her up from school everyday (when she goes back, which will be next week- we hope) she has missed 3 weeks of work. i don't think she's ever missed 2 consecutive days before, ever. so anyway, i've been busy helping her out a lot... so that's one reason i've been busy.
my sister's big 30th birthday bash was this past weekend. i can't believe my sister is 30. it makes ME feel old. hahaha. her party was amazing. lots of people, good food, good cookies (y'know, since i made them and all), and just lots of fun in general. i think i had equally as much fun the next day at brunch. but scott and i surely did enjoy going to austin, even for just one night, by ourselves. that's right, lincoln stayed in abilene with scott's mom. we decided that since it was only one night, and it was a pretty much "adult" party, that we would be able to have more fun without him... there were a couple times when i wish he would've been there with us... like when we first got to the party. he would've been fun to have there for about 10 minutes, and then i would've wanted someone to come and get him :)
lincoln is dressing up as a lion tonight. it's super cute. i will post a bunch of pics tomorrow or something, assuming i get the time. we are going to a halloween festival that my parents' church is having... actually, 3 churches in their town are having the thing. they are closing down 2 blocks of downtown clyde and are having air castles, blow-up slides, games, booths, candy... he will have lots of fun. and scott is going with us, too, so that will be so much fun. we got a letter in th email from our church lecturing us about allowing our child to participate in halloween festivities. (a) we're going to a CHURCH festival. (b) scott and i both celebrated halloween as children and we're just fine. (c) we're not teaching our son to believe in witchcraft... we're certainly not sacrificing anything. (d) it really offends me that they think i'm too stupid to be able to make these kinds of decisions by myself. whatev. i was so mad. ...i know their intentions were good, but still, it's annoying.
i'm so glad it's almost november. i am ready for the cold weather, a fire in the fireplace, thanksgiving, etc. thanksgiving is my favorite. i loooove to eat :) haha. i especially love my mom's thanksgiving meal, she is a great cook. her thanksgiving cooking is my favorite food in the entire world. i also look forward to playing games with my in-laws. we always spend the entire evening cracking up. it's lots of fun.
lots of stores have their christmas decorations up already... oh yay i am READY!!!!
alright that's enough for today. adios.

10.13.2007

what day is it?

so i feel like i've been running on fumes the past couple of weeks... there has just been so much going on...and i've come to realize that it's not going to get any slower paced for the next few months.

let's see what i've been doing... lincoln's been sick twice in the past month, and we've had issues with his health coverage (until yesterday) and so that's been pretty stressful. we had to pay full price for one dr. appt and 2 prescriptions, and sweet talked the dr's office into giving me 5 days to be able to prove lincoln's health coverage before i owed them anything out of pocket again...

hmm... yesterday was the day of much driving. i had to go to abilene, then to anson, then back to abilene, then to clyde, then back to abilene, then finally home. it was ridiculous and quite annoying. i don't like living in the boonies...

speaking of having a couple of minor problems with my current situation, scott and i have been talking more about what we want to happen in our lives the next couple of years. we're definitely going to move within the next year and a half, because there's no way in hell that we will allow lincoln to go to the schools out here. and i think we're officially ready to have another baby. i have been ready for months, but now scott has finally warmed up to the idea of having a baby before too long. maybe we'll get lucky and it won't take too long...

i think my son has gone deaf. either that or he's just a little twerp and ignores every single thing that comes out of my mouth. plus, he's been talking back lately. where the hell did that come from??? he still has his sweet moments, but most of the time he's difficult... i think that will probably last until he's about 20. i know i was a pain in my parents' ass until 20. only i hope he's nothing like i was. i was an awful child. he's not a pain in my ass, just in case you got the wrong point... he's just super trying on my patience. i suppose that just means that i need to be praying a whole lot harder for God's grace and wisdom to be patient with my child.

i guess i haven't blogged since my nephew has been around. he was born on sept 27 and he is absolutely perfect. he looks EXACTLY like my brother did as a newborn. when candace saw matt's newborn pictures, she said, "holy crap, i gave birth to matt!" his name is layton andrew. his first name is after our grandfather and our great-great-great grandfather... it is also my brother's middle name. i wish i had a name that had been passed down through generations like that. so, apparently, the name is being used as a first name every 3 generations, so perhaps layton's great-grandson will have his name?

work has been stressful the past couple of weeks. it has become less enjoyable and has involved a LOT more drama. i work with all girls (well, except frank, our dish washer) and girls come with wayyyy too much drama. such is the reason i've never had many girl friends. they just drive me insane. but work isn't so bad that i want to look for another job. i look forward to wednesdays and fridays, when my hilarious friend kim is working. it was better the second half of this past week than it has been in a few weeks, so i guess you could say things are looking up.

my sister's 30th birthday is coming up. that is insane to me. she is having a huge bash at some mexican restaurant & bar in austin. i'm super excited about it. there's going to be food and drink and karaoke and cake and lots of food and friends. oh, and formal dresses. HAAAHAHA. i'm so dead serious. my sister is goofy as hell. she's wearing a quincenera (sp?) dress and has invited everyone to dress up with her. i love it. after all, it is her double quincenera. (i am on a laptop and cannot figure out how to put a tilde over the second N in quincenera)

i am helping with the clyde high school musical again this year. i am in the process of learning the music myself so that i can teach it to the kids. after 2 days i can already remember why i go all the way out there almost every day for just enough money to reimburse me for all the gas i use just to get there and home. i love the theatre. i miss starring in things and actually being onstage. being behind the scenes and helping is fun, but it's nothing like being in the spotlight and performing. geeze i miss it.

i suppose this is enough for today's post. i could probably keep going but i won't.

10.05.2007

New blog, just you wait!

so i have decided to start up a new blog because i've changed up a few things on my myspace. this blog will have the same posts as my myspace blog, but will be viewable to those of you who don't have a myspace account. anyway, i know i'm a nerd, but it's all good.