1.14.2008

said i'm sorry, i had a bad day again

that's totally the main line from the song i'm currently listening to, and it happens to be very accurate for the crappy day i had. it was seriously one thing after another today.

lincoln and i were leaving the house for an eventful exciting day... i opened the back door and noticed that scott had left 4 bags of trash on the back porch for my to get (we dont' have a dumpster and have to haul trash to abilene every week, but haven't done so in about 8 bags worth- and scott could only fit 4 of them in his tiny car)... well, our neighbors dogs had discovered the bags of trash (all with at least SOME food in them) between the time that scott left the house and we were trying to leave- and had torn them into about 4 million pieces. there was trash EVERYWHERE. think about FOUR BAGS worth of trash... the bags had been torn apart, the stuff inside had been torn apart so the freaking dogs could get to the food, paper plates were half-eaten, and everything was just strewn about... awesome. i called scott and asked if the mess was there before he left, he said no, took the blame for the mess (why the hell would you leave trash bags outside when your neighbors have dogs?) and agreed to clean it up when he got home from work... a rough start to the day, but oh well- got lots of fun stuff planned!

so today was my first dr. appt for the baby. we were all so excited to get to hear the heartbeat and get to see a good picture and possibly even find out the sex (if the baby was in the right position and the picture was clear enough)... so lincoln and i got to my appt. at 9:45am, scott arrived at about 10:15. we were in the waiting room till 11:30am. i'm so not even kidding. we were all a bit grumpy by this point, but oh well. got in the exam room and found out that the dr. was not planning an ultrasound... so i asked the nurse if i could pleeeease get one and if she would sweet talk my dr- since that's the whole reason i brought lincoln and scott with me (and scott took off work for it)... so, she came back and said that my dr. had a c-section scheduled at noon and would not be able to give me an ultrasound. but if they could not find a heartbeat with the monitor, then they would do an ultrasound. of course, she found a good strong heartbeat (good news, but made me sad because i knew we would not get to see our baby) and so scott left so he could go back to work... lincoln and i stayed and they continued my appt. i had to use all of my strength to hold back the rush of tears that were ready to flow freely from my tear ducts. i've only been looking to this day forever, mainly because i wanted to be able to have a picture and to be able to show it off... lincoln was sad, because i had told him that he would get to see a picture... it's all the insurance's fault... i was supposed to be approved for all my pregnancy crap on december 6 and i had an appt for dec 12... well, i was not approved in time, had to cancel my original appt, got approved on DECEMBER 13 (how annoying is that!) and called immediately to reschedule my appt, but today was the soonest i could get in... and i'm far enough along to hear the heartbeat and not have to get an ultrasound to hear it, so yeah, it's all insurance crap.
so that started my day.
then, scott called to let me know that one of my tires was completely flat. spectacular. so i went to this place to get it fixed and noone was there. awesome. so i had to go air up my tire to get me to my hair appt in time.
got to my hair appt and almost cried telling the story about my morning... then as i was getting my hair cut, i kept hearing "oh my god!" and "wow"... apparently my hair is "awful"... not what i needed to hear after my morning. so yeah, it had been a looong time since i got it cut, but seriously, do you have to be so rude about it?

then we left there and i filled up with gas and started heading home... on the way home, i remembered that i forgot to get my effing tire fixed, so i had to turn around and head back into abilene... (somewhere in the mix i yelled "CRAP!" and of course my 3 1/2 yr old proceeded to say it multiple times- perfect.) so i got my tire fixed. hooray.

anyway, since getting home everything has been uneventful... i was so stressed and on edge already without having to worry about lincoln that i just put him in front of The Fox and the Hound and laid in bed for a few hours...now scott is home and i am planning on getting a serious back and neck massage and back scratch... then i'm going to take a shower in our great new (repaired!) shower and will probably crash early.

i am so glad this day is almost over.

1.09.2008

uh... title?

so let's see... i'm 13 weeks and 1 day pregnant. our baby is about the size of a fist.
i finally get to go to my first dr. appt this coming monday. i'm hoping there's some way (since i know i will be getting a sonogram- since it is my first appt) that we might be able to find out the sex of the baby. i am ready to start calling it a he or she and calling it by its name rather than calling it IT. i am ready to have my real due date... the one i'm going off now is the one i was given when i had a sonogram at 8 weeks at pregnancy resources...
i am showing way sooner than i was with lincoln. but i think that's pretty common with the second pregnancy. i have also heard that it is easier to feel the baby moving, much sooner, than with the first pregnancy. i am sooo looking forward to that. it will happen before i know it. being able to feel a baby move around inside you makes the whole miserable pregnancy thing worth it.
if we are not able to find out the sex next week, we will have to wait 6 more weeks before we are able to find out... 6 weeks sure doesn't seem like long! this pregnancy is flying by like i can't even believe. every day crept by when i was pregnant with lincoln, and this time i feel like i'm not getting enough time to appreciate the fact that there's actually a human growing inside of me. i do get reminders- like when i go to work and everyone's asking me about it- and at bedtime when we're all saying prayers. "the baby in mommy's tummy" is included in everyone's prayers. i am so ready to be able to give "the baby in mommy's tummy" an official title.
scott and i still completely disagree on a boy's name. we are supposed to sit down tonight and try to narrow it down to a couple of names that we can actually agree on. the name he likes so much, luke, i don't like. it's not a bad name, but i don't love it. i want to LOVE the name that i'm going to give to my child. i'm not just going to give it a name that's just "ok" to me. anyway, supposedly that's the ONLY name scott likes... it is the cause of lots of bickering between us. and it especially pisses me off when people are like "so how's luke doing?" i simply reply "i don't know who luke is". stop picking on me, people! i'm the one that's gotta push this kid out of my hoo-ha so shut up already!wow, what a random rant.
i can tell that i'm through with my first trimester. i feel like i've got a huge part of my life back. i am still a bit tired, but nothing like the complete exhaustion i was feeling up until about a week ago. i still feel like i need to sleep way more than i am being allowed to, but oh well. it's nice not feeling like a zombie all the time.
lincoln went back to school on tuesday for the first time in a few weeks. i thought everything would be fine and i would drop him off and it would all be like it had been... boy was i wrong! he had to sit in time out FOUR TIMES at school that day. he was in time out when i went to pick him up... needless to say, scott and i weren't very happy. he got plenty of "talking to" during the remainder of the day. his punishment was no tv or games on the internet (playhouse disney or nick jr.) all day. it equalled a long day for both of us. we were sooo ready for daddy to get home from work!
well i suppose this is enough for now. i will probably post again next week since i will be going to the dr. hopefully i will have big news about the sex of the baby to post! that would be nice....